Connect with us

Destiny 2: Canon Campaign Order for New Light Players

destiny 2, campaign order

Destiny 2: Canon Campaign Order for New Light Players

With the release of the Shadowkeep expansion for Destiny 2, Bungie has also made the game free-to-play. This means that new players can now hop into the New Light adventure and experience past stories and campaigns before checking out the new story content of Shadowkeep. Here’s the canon campaign order for Destiny 2.

Destiny 2 Campaign Order for New Light Players

With Destiny 2 going free-to-play and the New Light initiative allowing players to catch up with the story, there’s a slight snag in the plan. Namely, players can experience any of the story campaigns in any order, which isn’t great, as it might leave you feeling lost when it comes to the overarching narrative.

While each story is pretty standalone and can be enjoyed in a contained manner, it’s generally better to play them in release order. Here’s the canon campaign order for Destiny 2’s story:

The Red War

The base game of Destiny 2 follows the story of the Red War and the Cabal legion. Here are the story missions in order:

  1. Homecoming
  2. Adieu
  3. Spark
  4. Devrim Kay
  5. Combustion
  6. Hope
  7. Riptide
  8. Utopia
  9. Looped
  10. Six
  11. Sacrilege
  12. Fury
  13. Payback
  14. Unbroken
  15. Larceny
  16. 1AU
  17. Chosen

Curse of Osiris

Not long after the initial launch of Destiny 2, Bungie launched the Curse of Osiris mini expansion, which met lukewarm critical reception and is generally regarded as one of the worst DLC releases for Destiny. Still, here’s the mission and campaign order:

  1. The Gateway
  2. A Deadly Trial
  3. Beyond Infinity
  4. Deep Storage
  5. Tree of Probabilities
  6. Hijakced
  7. A Garden World
  8. Omega


Warmind was the second mini expansion released for Destiny 2, and while it is a tad shorter than Curse of Osiris, it was also a little better.

  1. Ice and Shadow
  2. Pilgrimage
  3. Off-World Recovery
  4. Strange Terrain
  5. Will of the Thousands


Widely regarded as one of the best expansions of Destiny, and seen as Destiny 2’s “Taken King” moment, Forsaken focuses on the Vanguard Hunter Cayde-6 and his legacy.

  1. Last Call
  2. High Plains Blues
  3. Scorned
  4. The Rider
  5. The Trickster
  6. The Mad Bomber
  7. The Hangman
  8. The Mindbender
  9. The Rifleman
  10. The Machinist
  11. Nothing Left to Say

It’s worth noting that chapters 4 to 10 are actually all interchangeable, and you can tackle them in any order. However, the Power level requirements are different for each Scorned, so it’s generally recommended that you do the lowest level one first and work your way up.

After you’ve cleared the Forsaken campaign, you’re pretty much done, and you can hop into the Shadowkeep content and start the grind.

That’s all you need to know about the canon campaign order of Destiny 2. Be sure to check our Shadowkeep guide wiki for more tips and information on the game.

Here are a few other guides to help get you started:

Continue Reading
To Top