Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice Is Game of the Year at The Game Awards 2019; Full List Inside

Today the awards ceremony of The Game Awards was held at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, and the winners have been announced. 

Game Awards Logo

Today the awards ceremony of The Game Awards was held at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, and the winners have been announced.

Recommended Videos

Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice won the Game of the Year title, leaving behind successful releases like Control, Death Stranding, Resident Evil 2, , Super Smash Bros. Ultinate, and The Outer Words.

Many other awards have found a loving home, and you can read the full list below.

  • Game of the Year: Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice
  • Action Game: Devil May Cry 5
  • Action/Adventure Game: Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice
  • Art Direction: Control
  • Audio Design: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare
  • Community Support: Destiny 2
  • Content Creator of the year: Shroud
  • Esports Coach: Danny “Zonic” Sorensen
  • Esports Event: League of Legends World Championship 2019
  • Esports Game of the Year: League of Legends
  • Esports Host: Eefje “Sjokz” Depoortere
  • Esports Player: Kyle “Bugha” Giersdorf
  • Esports Team: G2 Esports
  • Family Game: Luigi’s Mansion 3
  • Fighting Game: Super Smash Bros. Ultimate
  • Fresh Indie Game: Disco Elysium
  • Game Direction: Death Stranding
  • Games for Impact: Gris
  • Independent Game: Disco Elysium
  • Mobile Game: Call of Duty Mobile
  • Multiplayer Game: Apex Legends
  • Narrative: Disco Elysium
  • Ongoing Game: Fortnite
  • Performance: Madds Mikkelsen for Death Stranding
  • Role-Playing Game: Disco Elysium
  • Score & Music: Death Stranding
  • Sports/Racing Game: Crash Team Racing Nitro-Fueled
  • Strategy Game: Fire Emblem Three Houses
  • VR/AR Game: Beat Saber
  • Player’s choice: Fire Emblem Three Houses

At the 2018 edition of The Game Awards, God of War was named Game of the Year. The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild for brought home the win in 2017. Overwatch won in 2016. The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt won in 2015, while Dragon Age: Inquisition was at the top in 2014.

About the author

Giuseppe Nelva

Proud weeb hailing from sunny (not as much as people think) Italy and long-standing gamer since the age of Mattel Intellivision and Sinclair ZX Spectrum. Definitely a multi-platform gamer, he still holds the old dear PC nearest to his heart, while not disregarding any console on the market. RPGs (of any nationality), MMORPGs, and visual novels are his daily bread, but he enjoys almost every other genre, prominently racing simulators, action and sandbox games. He is also one of the few surviving fans on Earth of the flight simulator genre.