Connect with us

God of War Is Game of the Year at The Game Awards 2018

Good Of War, PS4

God of War Is Game of the Year at The Game Awards 2018

The ceremony of The Game Awards 2018 has just wrapped up in Los Angeles, and now we know all the winners who have brought home one or more of the coveted statues.

The Game of the Year award has gone to God of War. Kratos and Atreus managed to defeat stiff competition against Assassin’s Creed Odyssey, Celeste, Marvel’s Spider-Man, Monster Hunter: World, and even Red Dead Redemption 2, which I’m sure many thought would be the sure winner.

If you’re curious, you can find the whole list below.

  • Game of the Year: God of War
  • Best Ongoing Game: Fortnite
  • Best Game Direction: God of War
  • Best Narrative: Red Dead Redemption 2
  • Best Art Direction: Return of the Obra Dinn
  • Best Score/Music: Red Dead Redemption 2
  • Best Audio Design: Red Dead Redemption 2
  • Best Performance: Roger Clark as Arthur Morgan, Red Dead Redemption II
  • Games for Impact: Celeste
  • Best Independent Game: Celeste
  • Best Mobile Game: Florence
  • Best VR/AR Game: Astro Bot Rescue Mission
  • Best Action Game: Dead Cells
  • Best Action/Adventure Game: God of War
  • Best Role-Playing Game: Monster Hunter World
  • Best Fighting Game: Dragon Ball FighterZ
  • Best Family Game: Overcooked 2
  • Best Strategy Game: Into the Breach
  • Best Sports/Racing Game: Forza Horizon 4
  • Best Multiplayer Game: Fortnite
  • Best Student Game: Combat 2018
  • Best Debut Indie Game: The Messenger
  • Best eSports Game: Overwatch
  • Best eSports Player: Dominique “SonicFox” McLean
  • Best eSports Team: Cloud9
  • Best eSports Coach: Bok “Reapered” Han-gyu
  • Best eSports Event: League of Legends World Championship
  • Best eSports Host: Eefje “Sjokz” Depoortere
  • Best eSports Moment: C9 Comeback Win In Triple OT vs FAZE
  • Content Creator of the Year: Ninja
  • Industry Icon Award: Greg Thomas

To get into the celebratory mood, you can also watch Sony Interactive Entertainment Worldwide Studios Chairman Shawn Layden, Microsoft’s Xbox Division head Phil Spencer, and Nintendo of America President Reggie Fils-Aimé as they walked together on stage to kick-off the show in a really epic way.

The Game Award has become more and more relevant over the years, and last year it was watched by 11.5 Million gamers.

Last year The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild for Nintendo Switch brought home the coveted Game of the Year Award. Overwatch won in 2016. The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt won in 2015. Dragon Age: Inquisition was at the top in 2014.

Continue Reading
To Top