Connect with us

SEGA Genesis Classics Collection Heading to PS4, Xbox One and PC (Updated)

sega genesis classics

SEGA Genesis Classics Collection Heading to PS4, Xbox One and PC (Updated)

Update: SEGA has now officially announced the game via Twitter. A full list of games, and some extra features have also been announced in a post on the PlayStation Blog. SEGA Genesis Classics will introduce online multiplayer functionality to any game that originally featured multiplayer. Graphic enhancement filters are being included which are said to “make sure the old games still look great on your spangly, new-aged televisions.” It will also feature an interactive 3D room UI, where you navigate your way to games in a 90s themed bedroom. SEGA have also added a new horizontal flip mode, which will flip the games into an “all-new mirror mode” for added challenge.

Here is a full list of games:

  • Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle
  • Alien Soldier
  • Alien Storm
  • Altered Beast
  • Beyond Oasis
  • Bio-Hazard Battle
  • Bonanza Bros.
  • Columns
  • Columns III: Revenge of Columns
  • Comix Zone
  • Crack Down
  • Decap Attack
  • Dr. Robotnik’s Mean Bean Machine
  • Dynamite Headdy
  • ESWAT: City Under Siege
  • Fatal Labyrinth
  • Flicky
  • Gain Ground
  • Galaxy Force II
  • Golden Axe
  • Golden Axe II
  • Golden Axe III
  • Gunstar Heroes
  • Kid Chameleon
  • Landstalker
  • Light Crusader
  • Phantasy Star II
  • Phantasy Star III: Generations of Doom
  • Phantasy Star IV: The End of the Millenium
  • Ristar
  • Shadow Dancer: The Secret of Shinobi
  • Shining Force
  • Shining Force II
  • Shining in the Darkness
  • Shinobi III: Return of the Ninja Master
  • Sonic 3D Blast
  • Sonic Spinball
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Sonic the Hedgehog 2
  • Space Harrier II
  • Streets of Rage
  • Streets of Rage 2
  • Streets of Rage 3
  • Super Thunder Blade
  • Sword of Vermilion
  • The Revenge of Shinobi
  • ToeJam & Earl in Panic on Funkotron
  • ToeJam& Earl
  • Vectorman
  • VectorMan 2
  • Virtua Fighter 2
  • Wonder Boy III: Monster Lair
  • Wonder Boy in Monster World

Original Story

It has to be said, SEGA are one of the best companies at keeping their classic Genesis games alive on newer consoles. They may not make as many sequels to them as they should, but they at least do a good job of keeping them around. Case in point, SEGA are bringing a new collection of Genesis games to the PS4, Xbox One and PC, known as SEGA Genesis Classics. It is releasing on May 29.

The announcement was posted on Twitter a little too early, and SEGA quickly deleted the tweet. However, thanks to Twitter user Sonic_Hedgeblog, the trailer has been reuploaded and is available to view.

The full list of playable Genesis games hasn’t been revealed yet, but there are a number of games that were included in the trailer. Here is a list of the games that we’ve seen so far:

  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Streets of Rage
  • Golden Axe
  • Space Harrier
  • Gunstar Heroes
  • ToeJam & Earl
  • The Revenge of Shinobi
  • Altered Beast

A similar collection was released in 2009 for Xbox 360 and PS3: Sonic’s Ultimate Genesis Collection. That collection was chock-full of Genesis games, and even included a few unlockable SEGA Master System and arcade games. A full list of games that were on Sonic’s Ultimate Genesis Collection can be found here. Whether this new collection will be as robust as the one that the Xbox 360 and PS3 received remains to be seen.

Hopefully it won’t be too long until SEGA officially unveil the collection (for the second time). We’ll be sure to keep you updated when the list of games is announced.

Continue Reading
To Top