Connect with us

All Small Council Members in House of the Dragon


All Small Council Members in House of the Dragon

A guide that breaks down every member of the small council in House of the Dragon.

In the Seven Kingdoms, the ruling king (or queen) has, for the most part, ultimate power. That’s why the Iron Throne can be both a force for good and evil; it gives the one sitting upon the throne incredible control over their underlings. However, there is a measure of checks and balances. In House of the Dragon, King Viserys I Targaryen has a small council, each member focused on one aspect of ruling the realm and advises the king on what they think is the best course of action. Here are all small council members in House of the Dragon.

All Small Council Members in House of the Dragon

Other than King Viserys I Targaryen, there are a total of six members on the small council in House of the Dragon, noted by a small, unique orb they bring with them when council is in session. The small council consists of:

  • Daemon Targaryen, Lord Commander of the City Watch: A seemingly cruel man with a clever tongue and even crueler tactics. More importantly, Daemon Targaryen is King Viserys’ brother and was originally heir to the Iron Throne. He’s passed over for Rhaenyra Targaryen, the king’s daughter.
  • Otto Hightower, Hand of the King: Aside from being Hand of the King, Otto Highertower is also father of Alicent Hightower. Our first impression of Otto is his genuine interest in keeping the realm in tip-top shape, even if that means sending his daughter to “comfort” the grieving king. Most notably is Otto Hightower’s unfavorable opinion of Daemon Targaryen, the king’s brother.
  • Corlys Velaryon, Master of Shops: Corlys Velaryon is the husband of Rhaenys Targaryen (called the “Queen Who Never Was”). Considered one of the finest seafarers of his time, Corlys has been all over the world. His adventures are documented in The Nine Voyages.
  • Lyonel Strong, Master of Laws: Lyonel Strong is Lord of Harrenhal and quite intelligent. It’s Lyonel Strong that speaks up and against the possibility that Rhaenyra Targaryen be named heir.
  • Lyman Beesbury, Master of Coin: So far very little is known about Lyman Beesbury in House of the Dragon, other than his job as Master of Coin and being one of the oldest members of the small council.
  • Mellos, Grand Maestor: Another member of the small council that we know little about. By going off House of the Dragon alone, he’s the old Grand Maester that suggests cauterizing King Viserys’ wound. A grand maestor is only as skilled as the links on their chain, which could include medicine, accounting, and even magic.
  • Rhaenyra Targaryen, Heir to the Iron Throne: And daughter of King Viserys I Targaryen. While technically not a small council member yet, Rhaenyra’s status as heir to the throne means she’ll be sitting in on council meetings.

And that’s all the small council members in House of the Dragon. For more on House of the Dragon, find out more about characters outside the small council like Mysaria or what House Blackfyre is all about. Or maybe you’d like know if Rhaenyra Targaryen is gay in House of the Dragon.

Featured Image Source: HBO Max

Related Posts
Continue Reading
To Top