Connect with us

Resident Evil 7 Madhouse Difficulty: How to Unlock and Differences


Resident Evil 7 Madhouse Difficulty: How to Unlock and Differences

Madhouse Difficulty – Resident Evil 7: Biohazard

When you first pop into Resident Evil 7, there are only two difficulties: Easy and Normal. However, there is a third, much more challenging difficulty for those who want the true RE7 experience, and it’s called Madhouse. There are two ways to unlock this mode. The first is to have pre-ordered the game which grants a code that unlocks this mode from the very beginning. The second is to beat the game once on any difficulty mode.

The Madhouse difficulty isn’t called as such for nothing, though. You’re in for one seriously tough challenge thanks to these differences from the other difficulties:

Saving in Madhouse – You can not save whenever you want like you could in the other difficulties. You must find cassette tapes to use with the recorders, and they take up inventory slots (just like Ribbons in older games). If you don’t have a tape, then you better hope you don’t die until you find one and make it to a recorder.

Checkpoints in Madhouse – There are none.

Health Regeneration in Madhouse – You regain no health no matter how long you rest. You must use a healing item to get your health back.

Tougher Enemies in Larger Quantities – Resident Evil 7 enemies are horrifying during Madhouse difficulty. They are faster and much more powerful, capable of killing you in 2-3 hits. They also require a lot more damage than they did before, meaning anything other than a headshot is a completely wasted bullet.

Items in Madhouse – If you thought items were harder to find before, you’re in for a rude awakening. They are even rarer now, especially ammunition. There are also a few extra items thrown into the mix just for Madhouse, though.

Basically, Madhouse is the game that fans who have been around since the original entries have been waiting for.

For more tips, tricks, and information on RE7, be sure to check out our ever-expanding wiki guide.

Continue Reading
To Top