Connect with us

Every Targaryen King, Listed in Order – Game of Thrones Lore

house of the dragon
Image Source: HBO

Every Targaryen King, Listed in Order – Game of Thrones Lore

A summary of the Targaryen dynasty.

The Targaryen dynasty lasts almost 300 years, and has many kings named after each other. This guide will help you keep them all straight. Overall, the Targaryen dynasty is filled with conflict separated by a few good kings that keep the peace. It all starts in Dragonstone, the birthplace of Aegon the Conqueror, and ends with the Mad King. Here is a breakdown of every Tagaryen King in Game of Thrones, in order.

Every Game of Thrones Targaryen King Listed in Order

  • Aegon the Conqueror (0 AC to 37 AC) – Aegon I Targaryen started a dynasty when he conquered Westeros on the back of his dragon, Balerion the Dread. Many lords joined Aegon without any violence, but the lords of Dorne fought Aegon for years.  Soon after, he crafted the Iron Throne, one of the most easily recognizable chairs in the world. He married both of his sisters and had two sons. After finally resolving conflicts with Dorne, Aegon reigned over a peaceful Westeros for the last 24 years of his life. He died of a stroke at the age of 64.
  • Aenys I Targaryen (37 AC to 42 AC) – King Aenys I had a tumultuous reign and failed to meet his father’s legacy. There were a few small rebellions already in his first year as king. His bannerman quelled the rebellions, but there was more trouble on the horizon for the new king. His brother Maegor I Targaryen took multiple wives and upset the Faith of the Seven; furthermore, Aenys married his son Jaehaerys to his daughter. Tensions rose until Aenys was forced to flee King’s Landing, and he died one year later.
  • Maegor I Targaryen (42 AC to 48 AC) – King Maegor I ascended the Iron Throne after the death of his brother and continued to fight the Faith of the Seven. Aenys’ son Jaehaerys proved much more popular and usurped his uncle after a measly six years.
  • Jaehaerys I Targaryen (48 AC to 103 AC) – Proving a better ruler than Maegor and Aenys, Westeros flourished under Jaehaerys Targaryen. Even though his son died, he wisely solved a succession problem by calling the first Great Council. King Jaehaerys lives during the time that House of the Dragon takes place, although it’s just for the first episode.
  • Viserys I Targaryen (103 AC to 129 AC) – Chosen by the Great Council Viserys struggled to maintain peace within Westeros and between Westeros and the Free Cities. He became sickly in his old age and had a similar succession problem, having a son late in life and only after naming his daughter Rhaenyra heir.
  • Aegon the Elder (129 AC to 131 AC) – The people of Westeros preferred King Aegon to his sister Rhaenyra.  Conflict erupted and Rhaenyra briefly ruled. Aegon reclaimed his throne and killed Rhaenyra after the Storming of the Dragonpit.
  • Aegon the Younger (131 AC to 157 AC) – After the poisoning of her brother, Rhaenyra’s son Aegon became King.
  • Daeron I Targaryen (157 AC to 161 AC) – Aegon the younger died when his son was 14, and Daeron wasn’t ready to rule. He died when he was 18.
  • Baelor I Targaryen (161 AC to 171 AC) – Daeron’s brother ascended the Iron Throne but also died quickly.
  • Viserys II Targaryen (171 AC to 172 AC) – The hand of the previous three kings, Viserys was more productive than his one-year reign would indicate. He had a son and got succession back on track in Westeros.
  • Aegon the Unworthy (172 AC to 184 AC) – King Aegon IV was too distracted by his own vices to be a good king. He had many children outside his marriage.
  • Daeron II Targaryen (184 AC to 209 AC) – A much better king, Daeron II brought Dorne peacefully into the realm.   
  • Aerys I Targaryen (209 AC to 221 AC) – Daeron’s son Aerys became heir after his older brother died. After unfortunate deaths in his family, his younger brother Maekar became the only heir.
  • Maekar I Targaryen (221 AC to 233 AC) – Conflicts with Dorne began anew and caused the death of Maekar after a decade as King.
  • Aegon the Unlikely (233 AC to 259 AC) – Another great council selected Aegon V Targaryen to be King of Westeros. Maekar had four sons and only one could succeed him. Maester Aemon from Game of Thrones is Aegon’s brother. To prevent any conflict over Maekar’s succession, Aemon sacrificed his titles and name to go to the Wall.
  • Jaehaerys II Targaryen (259 AC to 262 AC) – Jaehaerys died after only three years due to illness.
  • Aerys II Targaryen (262 AC to 283 AC) – Game of Thrones fans will recognize Aerys as The Mad King. King Aerys’s son Rhaegar ran off with Lyanna Stark, who was promised to Robert Baratheon. This kicked off Robert’s Rebellion and spelled the end of the Targaryen dynasty. He died at the hand of Jamie Lannister as many GOT fans will remember. The Targaryens united Westeros and mostly held it together until the rule of Robert Baratheon by force of will and dragon. The first King Jaehaerys held things together for 54 years, and is a strong contender for the best king. Twinfinite has many Game of Thrones and House of the Dragon features and guides making it easy to watch the Targaryens in action.

There you have it, all 17 Targaryen Kings from Game of Thrones in order. House Targaryen certainly had its ups and downs ruling Westeros, and most kings would’ve benefited from continuing Jahaerys I’s legacy. Be sure to check out our Game of Thrones content like who is White Worm, with more guides to come as episodes premier, or see which character you are most like in the GOT character quiz.

About the author

Ryan Bruckner

Ryan Bruckner, a University of Wisconsin grad and cat dad, wrote for Twinfinite from September of 2022 to March of 2023. A large contributor to the site's Pokemon Scarlet & Violet coverage, Ryan also often wrote about Star Wars and the Pokemon TCG.
Related Posts
Continue Reading
To Top