What Is the Max Level in The First Descendant?

Level up your game

The First Descendant is the latest looter shooter on the market, with plenty to keep you occupied. Playing the game will see you quickly gain experience, but what is the maximum level in The First Descendant? Let’s take a look.

Recommended Videos

The First Descendant Max Level

The First Descendant has two different leveling systems, and as a result, there are two separate level caps.

The first system, Descendant Level, is tied to a specific character. Meanwhile, the Mastery Rank represents your overall progression.

Character entering battle in The First Descendant
Image Source: Nexon via Steam

As you play through the game, your Descendant Level for each individual character will max out at Level 40. Meanwhile, your Mastery Level will cap out at 30.

Your Descendant Level will grant you what you’d expect from leveling up any character, namely boosts to your stats and new skills for that specific character.

Your Mastery Rank, however, will grant you additional perks throughout the game. These include increased storage capacity for items and equipment, unique abilities, and even legendary weapons.

One thing to keep in mind is that the two leveling systems vary in another key way: Descendant Levels are automatic. While you will gain Mastery experience as you progress through your games, you’ll need to take an extra step to actually level up. To level up your Mastery Rank, you’ll have to head to Albion and increase your rank at Prime Hands.

You can gain experience through a variety of methods in The First Descendant. This includes defeating bosses and completing missions. Due to the difference in leveling systems, it’s always worth making a detour to Albion when you have the chance.

It’s worth prioritizing Mastery over Descendant Rank, as Mastery will offer greater bonuses for all your characters. If possible, it might be worth switching between a variety of characters to have a few different characters at similar levels, rather than putting all your effort into one character.

Want to share the fun in The First Descendant? Here’s how to add your friends. We’ve also got a tier list, codes guide, and tips on how to activate cross save.

Twinfinite is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Lewis Rees
Lewis Rees
Lewis is an author and journalist based in Wales. His first novel, Wander, came out in 2017. Lewis is passionate about games, and has travelled to events worldwide to host and present panels at games conferences. In his spare time he loves reading, writing, and escape rooms.