God of War Ragnarok Niflheim and the Raven Tree Explained

God of War Ragnarok Niflheim and the Raven Tree Explained

Interested to learn more about Niflheim and the Raven Tree in God of War Ragnarok? Let us help.

God of War Ragnarok is going to transport players to a world of myth and legend, and at the center of it all are the nine realms. While we have seen certain areas in the first game, the sequel promises an even bigger universe to explore, and one of those areas is Niflheim. While it was previously a maze of poisonous mist, things have certainly changed this time around. If you are looking for more info on Niflheim and the Raven Tree in God of War Ragnarok, read on.

Recommended Videos

What Is the Niflheim Raven Tree for in God of War Ragnarok? Answered

Instead of navigating a changing maze, the realm of Niflheim is a drastically changed place. On your initial visits, you will find an arena where you can practice combat against any type of enemy in God of War Ragnarok, but further south is where you will find the curious Raven Tree.

Raven Tree God of War Ragnarok
Image Credit: Sony Interactive Entertainment via Twinfinite

If you have been observant, you might have seen glowing green ravens flying around as you progress in the game. These are Odin’s ravens and are used as his spies to keep watch over everything in the realms. Participating in the favor known as The Eyes of Odin means destroying a total of 42 ravens in God of War Ragnarok.

The more interesting thing is the information shared by said ravens. Instead of being willing spies, these are essentially animals in captivity, forced by Odin to do his bidding. Rather than chastise Kratos for destroying them, they cheer on as each comrade’s soul is returned to the Raven Tree, and hoping for the day Odin meets his end.

The Eyes of Odin God of War Ragnarok

That is not all, however; we also learned that a being known as the Raven Keeper is responsible for this atrocity. Finding and saving all ravens will trigger a fight with this venomous creature, where you can deliver sweet justice.

All Odin’s Raven Locations

We’re currently working on a series of guides talking you through Odin’s Raven locations in each of the six realms they show up in. You can check these out below. As these are a work-in-progress, we’ll be adding the links in to each realm’s guide over the coming days, so be sure to check back soon.

  • All Svartalfheim Odin’s Ravens
  • All Alfheim Odin’s Ravens (Coming Soon)
  • All Midgard Odin’s Ravens (Coming Soon)
  • All Vanaheim Odin’s Ravens (Coming Soon)
  • All Muspelheim Odin’s Ravens (Coming Soon)
  • All Helheim Odin’s Ravens (Coming Soon)

With more knowledge about Niflheim and the Raven Tree in God of War Ragnarok, perhaps you will be interested in other facets of the game. Be sure to check out our guides on things to do first in the game, learn how to sprint and run faster, or change the difficulty of the game, and how to heal. Otherwise, feel free to peruse the related content below.

Twinfinite is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Jake Su
Jake Su
Jake is a full-time trophy hunter and achievement gatherer on consoles, and a part-time Steam Sale victim. He has a thing for Batman and awesome statues, and running out of space for both. Send help. Jake was a freelance writer for Twinfinite between 2021 to 2023 and specialized in writing detailed guides on every new release he could get his hands on.