Connect with us

Assassin’s Creed Valhalla: How to Change Difficulty

assassin's creed valhalla, difficulty

Assassin’s Creed Valhalla: How to Change Difficulty

Developed and published by Ubisoft, Assassin’s Creed Valhalla is the latest entry in the popular open-world historical fiction series. With this entry, players will get to take control of a viking named Eivor as they explore England in search of treasure, resource, as well as new lands to claim as territory for their clan. If the game ever gets too challenging, though, there ways around that. Here’s how to change the difficulty in Assassin’s Creed Valhalla.

Changing Difficulty in Assassin’s Creed Valhalla

There are quite a few difficulty settings that you can play around with in Assassin’s Creed Valhalla, allowing you to tailor the experience to your own needs and play style.

In general, to change the settings, bring up the menu with the touchpad on PS4 or the button on Xbox One, then press left on the d-pad to access the proper options menu.

From here, choose Options, then go to the Gameplay tab. Scroll down, and you’ll see a list of different difficulty settings you can adjust. We’ve listed them down below:

Combat Difficulty

  • Skald (Easy)
  • Vikingr (Default)
  • Berserkr (Hard)
  • Drengr (Very Hard)

This should be pretty self-explanatory. The higher the setting, the tougher your enemies are, and the more damage you’ll take. If you’re having trouble with the game, you might want to consider lowering the difficulty so that you can get through enemies a little easier, and you won’t have to worry too much about grinding out levels and skill points.


  • Apprentice (Easy)
  • Assassin (Default)
  • Master Assassin (Hard)

Separate from combat settings, the stealth difficulty setting determines how easily and quickly you can be spotted by enemies. In addition to that, there’s also a Guaranteed Assassination setting that you can toggle on and off. If you turn it on, all enemies will be assassinated with just one shot, but the game notes that this is not the intended way to experience Assassin’s Creed Valhalla.

If you disable it, you should still be able to one-shot most regular enemies, but tougher ones may survive the attack, and you’ll need to invest your skill points to make your attacks stronger.


  • Adventurer
  • Explorer (Default)
  • Pathfinder

Finally, there are also exploration settings that you can play around with. Explorer is the default, and you’ll see different colored orbs on your HUD and map as you get closer to them. Pathfinder is meant to be a more immersive experience, as your HUD will be a lot more minimal, and it can be tougher to discover items of interest in the open-world.

Essentially, if you’d like to have more icons on your compass and have an easier time overall searching for items, set this to Adventurer or Explorer.

That’s all you need to know about how to change difficulty in Assassin’s Creed Valhalla. Be sure to search for Twinfinite or check our guide wiki for more tips and information on the game.

Related Posts
Continue Reading
To Top