Connect with us

Borderlands 3 Guardian Rank Explained: How to Get Guardian Tokens & Unlock Skills

borderlands 3, guardian rank

Borderlands 3 Guardian Rank Explained: How to Get Guardian Tokens & Unlock Skills

If you played Borderlands 2, you’ll likely be familiar with that game’s Badass Ranks. Guardian Rank is basically the equivalent of that in Borderlands 3, and allows you to strengthen your character across multiple playthroughs. Here’s how the Guardian Rank system works in Borderlands 3, and how you can get Guardian Tokens to unlock new skills.

Borderlands 3 Guardian Rank System Explained

Unlocking Guardian Rank

First off, if you bring up your ECHO menu, you’ll notice the Guardian Rank tab at the rightmost corner of the menu.

However, you won’t be able to access it until you’ve completed the story campaign in Borderlands 3. Upon doing so, the final menu tab will unlock, giving you access to a whole host of skills that you can unlock and upgrade for your character.

Earning Guardian Tokens

Upon completion of the story campaign, your character will still gain experience as per normal as you kill enemies and complete quests. Aside from the experience bar, though, you’ll also get a Guardian Rank bar that fills up.

Each time you fill up the bar, you’ll be rewarded with a Guardian Token, which can then be spent in the Guardian Rank tab to unlock a new skill.

In the menu, you’ll get to choose from six randomly chosen skills from the Hunter, Enforcer, and Survivor skill trees in the Guardian Rank menu, and spend your Token there.

We’ve listed all the available skills for each tree down below:


  • Fight For Your Life duration
  • Fight For Your Life movement speed
  • Max health
  • Shield capacity
  • Shield recharge delay
  • Shield recharge rate


  • Critical damage
  • Grenade damage
  • Gun damage
  • Gunfire damage
  • Melee damage
  • Vehicle damage


  • Accuracy
  • Action skill cooldown
  • Luck
  • Recoil reduction
  • Reload speed

Once you’ve invested enough Guardian Tokens into a single tree in the Guardian Rank menu, you’ll be rewarded with new passive abilities, weapons, and even character skins. All these skills and stats can be upgraded infinitely as well, so there’s pretty much no end to strengthening your character in Borderlands 3. There’s definitely plenty to grind for.

That’s all you need to know about how the Guardian Rank system works in Borderlands 3. Be sure to check our Borderlands 3 guide wiki for more tips and information on the game.

Here are a few other guides to help get you started:

Continue Reading
To Top