Connect with us

Star Wars Battlefront Brings Team Deathmatch in Blast Mode


Star Wars Battlefront Brings Team Deathmatch in Blast Mode

November still feels so far, far away…

The development team over at EA’s DICE studio have shared a bit of news for classic fans of Star Wars Battlefront today with the announcement of Blast mode.

Blast mode will be Star Wars Battlefront‘s take on classic multiplayer mode, team deathmatch. It will pit Rebel and Imperial forces against one another in 10 versus 10 matches. The first team to reach 100 kills, or the team with the most kills by the time the ten-minute round ends, wins.

DICE’s Dennis Brännvall, lead level designer for Star Wars Battlefront, notes that gameplay and locales will vary drastically from level to level. “One battle you’ll be fighting within interior levels on Endor or Sullust. In the next battle, you might find yourselves among Tatooine’s dusty canyons, or inside the undeniably cool Ice Caves on Hoth. My favorite is the verticality of Tatooine, fighting by the Sandcrawler.”

And since Blast mode is set for 10 vs. 10 players, the size of the maps will differ from other game modes to keep players in close-quartered combat. The Battlefront maps for Blast mode were built from the ground up to be ideal for the gameplay, so they promise not to just give players smaller versions of the maps already known to them. Brännvall notes of other changes between modes, as well: “Say you’ve just played Walker Assault mode on Hoth and then switched to Blast, still on Hoth. Thanks to variations in lighting and time of day, you’ll definitely see a difference.”

Star Wars Battlefront is coming to PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One on November 17.

Continue Reading
To Top