League of Legend’s Chinese Pro League First to Embrace Franchising

League Pro League

These teams are here to stay.

Franchising has long been a topic of debate when it came to League of Legends. At the end of every split, the teams with the worst records in the pro league faced off against the top of their region’s development leagues. The winner would either get to save their spot or move up to play with the pros.

Supporters of franchising argued that this provided job security, much like physical sports while challengers argued that this could cause complacency, with teams and players staying in the pro league despite not deserving a spot. In the case of China, they have decided that they will be franchising their League Pro League (LPL) starting with the next season. The current 12 teams will now have a guaranteed spot in the league, with an additional two being added for a 14 team roster in 2018.

As of right now, the current LPL franchised roster is:

  • Royal Never Give Up
  • OMG
  • Invictus Gaming
  • I May
  • Snake ESports
  •  LGD Gaming
  • Team WE
  • Edward Gaming
  • QG Reapers
  • NewBee
  • DAN Gaming
  • Game Talents

Check Out More

To Top