Guides

Destiny 2: How to Get Into the Beta

How to Get Into the Destiny 2 Beta

Destiny 2 is due out on Sept. 6 on PS4 and Xbox One, and Oct. 24 on PC. Like with the first game in the series, Bungie is allowing prospective players to try the game out first by way of a beta (early access to a section of the game). There are two types of betas planned for Destiny 2, a closed one and an open one, and this guide is going to tell you how to get into them.

The closed beta is the one that requires a bit of work (though honestly not much). Everyone that pre-orders Destiny 2 will be able to obtain a code for their platform of choice. This will allow them to download and play the beta as soon as it goes live. Bungie will also be giving out codes on their social media (though your best chances will most likely come from just pre-ordering). If you get a code you can go to your platform of choice and download the Destiny 2 beta which goes live at these times:


  • PS4 – July 18 at 10 AM PST/ 1 PM EST/ 5 PM BST
  • Xbox One – July 19 at 10 AM PST/ 1 PM EST/ 5 PM BST
  • PC – Late August

All is not lost if you don’t have the funds to pre-order Destiny 2, though. There will be an open beta as well that goes live on PS4 and Xbox One on July 21 at 10 AM PST/ 1 PM EST/ 5 PM BST. The open beta only requires that you access the marketplace on your platform of choice and download the game. Nothing more.

Do keep in mind that although these are the start times, it doesn’t guarantee that you’ll actually be able to login at that time. As is the case with brand new online games, you can expect the servers to experience quite a bit of strain.

Also, keep in mind that the upcoming Destiny 2 console beta ends on July 23 at 9 PM PST, and July 24 at 12 AM EST/ 5 AM BST.

Safe travels, Guardians.

Comments
To Top