Connect with us

Say Hello to the Six New Gaming Hall of Famers

Sonic the Hedgehog


Say Hello to the Six New Gaming Hall of Famers

We made it, Sonic.

The Strong museum’s World Video Game Hall of Fame added six new titles to its roster today, expanding on last year’s lineup with some of gaming’s most iconic names.

Out of 15 final nominations, Grand Theft Auto III, The Legend of Zelda, The Oregon Trail, The Sims, Sonic the Hedgehog, and Space Invaders were named the second class of inductees. Pour one out for the other nine nominees, which include Pokémon Red and Green, Street Fighter II, Minecraft, John Madden Football, Elite, Final Fantasy, Sid Meier’s Civilization, Nürburgring, and Tomb Raider.

These six games join last year’s inaugural class, which consisted of Tetris, Super Mario Bros., World of Warcraft, Doom, Pac-Man, and Pong.

Though young, the World Video Game Hall of Fame hopes to memorialize gaming’s most influential creations, recognizing popularity, global reach, and influence of culture, entertainment, and other video games. Want to know the thought process behind each selection? You can read up on The Strong’s decisions here.

Let us know what you think of the choices, and for more, check out some of today’s top stories below.

Check out more

Continue Reading

More in News

Check Out More

What’s Trending

Latest Reviews

To Top