Connect with us

Destiny 2.0 is Bringing Massive Changes Tomorrow, Here’s What You Need to Know


Destiny 2.0 is Bringing Massive Changes Tomorrow, Here’s What You Need to Know

Are you ready?

First Off, You Have More Time to Complete Your Year One Emblem

Destiny Moments of Triumph Year One Emblem

Bungie graciously extended the time to complete Destiny’s Year One Moments of Triumph. Essentially, anyone who is interested in getting an exclusive emblem to show off presumably for years to come has about a week to complete all of the major year one content in Destiny and its two mini expansions. What is most likely to trip people up is defeating Skolas, and for people who aren’t into PvP, getting the necessary Crucible wins.

There Aren’t Going to Be Any Daily or Weekly Missions


Just for this week, starting Tuesday, there won’t be daily missions or weekly strikes for you to take part in. Destiny has done this before before the release of their other mini-expansions, so it’s not a total shocker. But if you were counting on the Nightfall or Weekly Heroics for anything, well, um, count on them not being there instead.

You Can Start Earning Gunsmith Reputation

destiny 2.0

Destiny: The Taken King will introduce new vendors, kiosks, and currencies. You can get a taste of this starting tomorrow when the Gunsmith starts his new “Armsday” service. You’ll be able to start earning his reputation by prototyping experimental weapons for him and ordering legendary weapons to be delivered after each weekly reset.

The Weapon Nerfs/Buffs Will be in Effect

destiny 2.0

The dreaded/welcomed Destiny 2.0 weapon buffs, nerfs, improvements, changes, whatever you view them as will finally drop tomorrow. Will Auto Rifles be back in the high life again? Is the reign of the big 3 exotic Hand Cannons over Crucible finally over? Will Necrochasm actually be useful for something? All these questions and more will be answered tomorrow.

You’ll be Able to Preview the New Crucible PvP Modes & Maps

iron banner

Speaking of Crucible and PvP, Destiny’s new Crucible game types, Rift and Mayhem, will be playable for everyone tomorrow, regardless of whether or not they have pre-ordered TKK. Rift is essentially neutral Capture the Flag, and Mayhem is a chaotic game type with ability recharges turned up to the max. If you’re not getting The Taken King, you can try these out until it launches next week.

Experience and Light Level Will Work Under a New System


If you aren’t 34 already, gone is the need to hunt for new armor. You’ll be able to reach 34 purely on experience points starting tomorrow and going forward post TKK (where the new cap will be 40). If you’re at 34, then you’re at the highest level cap, at least for a week.

Light Level will now be a calculation of your highest available armor and weapon ratings. While it won’t mean much now, when The Taken King launches, new content will have recommended light level ratings to help you gauge if you’re strong enough to try it.

Wolf Packs, Elder Ciphers, & Eris Morn Bounties Will Cease to Exist

the dark below

Destiny 2.0 will be retiring a lot of the old mini-expansion content. No more prowling Wolf Packs while on patrol, and Eris will no longer offer bounties to grind out. Starting tomorrow, the Elder Cipher will no longer drop and instead, you’ll have a chance of getting the House of Wolves exotic weapons from the large chests at the end of Prison of Elders. Kind of sad, but that’s the way MMOs go. Instead of bounties, quests will be the way to earn reputation in those factions. Which finally brings us to…

Everything is Going to be Questified & More Bounty Slots

Destiny 2.0

Making sure that the old content matches what will be style going forward after Destiny 2.0, all of the old content will be questified similar to what you saw in House of Wolves. There will be a new quest screen to help organize everything you have going on and more bounty slots (16) to help you hold onto it all.

If you want to read the entire patch preview, you can do so here. What are you most excited about with Destiny 2.0 and The Taken King? Let us know in the comments!

More Destiny: The Taken King

Continue Reading
To Top