News

Sea of Thieves Beta Sets Sail This Month on Xbox One and PC

sea of thieves

A pirate’s life for me.

Sea of Thieves is one of the most anticipated games of the year and, as a Microsoft exclusive, could be a major win for the company if it lives up to the high expectations of players eager to take to the high seas. Developer Rare has announced that a beta for the game is set to go live later this month for both Xbox and PC players.

As detailed on the official Sea of Thieves site, the closed beta will begin on Jan. 24 at 4 AM PT / 7 AM ET / 12 PM GMT and will run until 12 AM PT / 3 AM ET / 8 AM GMT on Jan. 29. If you want to get in on the action then you’ll either need to have joined the Sea of Thieves Insider Program prior to Dec. 1, or you’ll need to have pre-ordered the game.


Rare has stated that the beta won’t be an example of the full game, but will be a tailored experience “that offers a true taste of the pirate life.” Those who’ve pre-ordered the game digitally from the Xbox Store will see the beta appear in their games library 24 hours before it goes live. If you pre-ordered the game elsewhere, then you need to redeem the code you received for the Black Dog cosmetic pack. Then the beta will appear in your game library like with those who ordered from the Xbox Store.

Sea of Thieves was first announced at Microsoft’s E3 2015 press conference and was scheduled to launch in 2017. The game was later delayed to a release of March 20 of this year. The game is being developed by Rare, a studio known for creating excellent games such as Banjo-Kazooie, Donkey Kong Country, Conker’s Bad Fur Day, and GoldenEye 007. The game is highly anticipated and, if it lives up to expectations, it could be a major selling point for the Xbox.

MORE NEWS:

Comments
To Top