Game sharing isn’t only limited to physical discs. Thanks to the Xbox One game sharing system, digitally downloaded games can be shared with another account. And best of all, once you have successfully set up both accounts you’ll be able to play the same games simultaneously. This means there’s no need to worry about friends forgetting to returns discs anymore!
Note that Xbox One’s game sharing system works with only one other account. You will not be able to share games with more than a single friend. Once both accounts are properly linked, though, you’ll be able to share games both ways between two accounts.
First you will need to acquire your friend’s account information, including their account email and password. If you or your friend do not want to directly share password information, you will need to each punch in the password on the other’s Xbox One. The system will not remember the password (at least, it will not display the password), so there’s no need to worry about any privacy concerns from that point of view.
Once you have worked out how you will be entering the account information into the Xbox One system you are using, boot up the console and head to the profile drop-down. The option you are looking for is a box next to your avatar in the top-left corner of the screen. There is a tab that reads “Add New.” Select that option and then enter your friend’s account information.
Once the information has been correctly entered, select the option “Choose this person.”
While signed into your friend’s account, go to Settings > My Xbox > My Home Xbox. Now select “Make this my Home Xbox.”
Now you can log out of this account and sign in under your own Gamertag. All of your friend’s games will now be available for you to download. Simply head to My Games & Apps to see your new list of games ready to install.
Do keep in mind that once your account details are shared, all Xbox Live account details can be accessed, including any saved payment methods, such as credit card information. Please be mindful that you are sharing your profile with someone whom you trust. It’s also worth considering that shared accounts can only be changed three times per year.