Console Players Can Try Overwatch for Free Next Weekend


Join the fight!

You’ve probably heard of a little title that came out this year by the name of Overwatch. Maybe you’re still hesitant about forking down cash for it if you haven’t grabbed it already. Well, good news for you, if you’re playing on consoles: you can download it for free.

Next weekend (Sept. 9-12), Blizzard’s team shooter will be free to download for PS4 and Xbox One players. All you need is an internet connection (and Xbox Gold if you own the Microsoft system), and you’re good to go to play as all 22 characters. And don’t worry about feeling like you’re doing it for nothing–your progress will be saved, so if you buy the game, you won’t be starting from scratch.

The free period begins at 11am PT on Sept. 9 and concludes at 4pm PT on the 12th for North America. For Asia players, it’ll begin at 2am CST and 3am JST/KST on Sept. 10. European players have access at 19:00 BST, 20:00 CEST, and 21:00 MSK on the 9th.

For detailed installation instructions, check here.

We enjoyed Overwatch a ton (here’s our review!), and a lot of people seem to have taken to it. Don’t be afraid to give it a shot!

Check Out More

To Top